Header title
Header Logo
Exemplary Chapter 2017
Mission: To provide a source of connection, collaboration
and professional development for school communicators
in order to strengthen support for Illinois public schools,
which leads to greater student success.
About Us
Events and programs
Job Listings
Member Login
Distinguished Service Awards

Call for Nominations! 2020 Distinguished Service Awards


Dear INSPRA Members,

As a school communications professional, you understand the importance of building a strong public relations program that provides all members of the school community the opportunity to promote excellence and be champions of students and staff members. 

On an annual basis, INSPRA Distinguished Service Awards are presented to individuals from across the state who partner with the communications office and serve as ambassadors for public education. Nominating an individual for a Distinguished Service Award is a great way to acknowledge those individuals in your district who exemplify the characteristics of a valued public relations team member.

Your district may submit one nomination in each of the nine categories listed below. Districts may submit three nominations at no cost. The fee for each subsequent nomination is $25.00.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, Feb. 28, 2020.

  • ADMINISTRATOR: superintendents, associate/assistant superintendents, principals, assistant principals, directors, coordinators, and other licensed or non-licensed staff members who function in administrative roles
  • FACULTY/LICENSED STAFF: teachers, counselors, nurses, psychologists, social workers, and other licensed school service personnel
  • SUPPORT STAFF: aides, bus drivers, crossing guards, maintenance/custodial personnel, food-service staff, paraprofessionals, administrative assistants, or other support staff
  • TEAM: two or more individuals who worked together to complete a single project or activity


Nominations for the Distinguished Communicator Award, one of the highest and most prestigious honors presented by our organization, are also encouraged. This award recognizes an INSPRA member for a career that has consistently exemplified the professional practices of school public relations. Nominees must have at least five years of experience in school public relations and have not previously received the award. Please nominate one of our own for this incredible honor!

All the details are on the INSPRA website, including the judging rubric and the online nomination form (https://app.reviewr.com/s1/site//INSPRA-DistinguishedService-2020). Also, mark your calendar for Friday, May 8, 2020 for the DSA Award Luncheon at the Bolingbrook Golf Club. Please contact me with any questions at [email protected].



Carol L. Smith
DSA Chairperson & INSPRA President-Elect

Footer Logo
P.O. Box 47
Frankfort, IL 60423
Phone 815-464-3275 Map
© 2020. Illinois Chapter National School Public Relations Association.